UTME 2020: List of top 5 states with examination malpractice in Nigeria

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) has released an abridged list of states with examination malpractice in the 2020 United Tertiary Matriculation Examination (UTME).

JAMB’s spokesperson, Dr Fabian Benjamin, said some of the 195 candidates on the list have already been arraigned, The Nation reports.

He, however, noted that the coronavirus pandemic has interrupted the process.

The offences committed by the candidates include examination by proxy, double registration, attempt to cheat, connivance to cheat, unruly behaviour, and smuggling of electronic device into examination hall.

Below are the top five states on the JAMB’s examination malpractice list

1. Imo state (27 candidates)

2. Anambra state (16 candidates)

3. Enugu (15 candidates)

4. Kaduna (15 candidates)

5. Kano (15 candidates)

Others on the bottom of the list are:

6. Lagos – (Nine candidates)

7. FCT – (Three states)

8. Kogi state – Two candidates

9. Delta state – Two candidates

10. Benue state – Two candidates

11. Adamawa state – One candidate

12. Gombe state – One candidate

13. Sokoto state – One candidate

14. Yobe state – One candidate

The five states not on the list are:

1. Kebbi

2. Niger

3. Taraba

4. Bayelsa

5. Zamfara

According to the JAMB’s spokesman, a total of 1,945,983 million candidates sat for the examination in March.

The board noted that examination malpractices declined in 2020.

Also, of nine CBT centres de-listed by JAMB during the 2020 UTME, only one, MS World ICT Institute of Information Technology, Kano, was delisted for “connivance with candidates to cheat”. Others were delisted for technical deficiency.